top of page
  • Writer's pictureBill Raines

35 Years Later Van Buren Township from Monroe County Firefighter to be Honored

MONROE COUNTY - September 05, 2023 – One of our most dignified duties as firefighters is to honor those who have made the ultimate sacrifice.

Every year firefighters gather to remember those firefighters in Indiana who died in the line of duty.

Firefighter Jan Dawes Line of Duty death August 8, 1988

This year Jan Dawes will be honored by inscribing his name on the pillars at the Indiana Fallen Police and Firefighter Memorial in a ceremony on September 7th, 2023 at 6:00PM.

Firefighter Jan Dawes name will be inscribed into the Memorial 35 years after his on-duty death at Van Buren Township Fire Station 9 on the morning of August 8th, 1988 when he lost his life from a medical emergency.

After 35 years a group of firefighters with the Monroe Fire Protection District worked with

the Professional Firefighter Union of Indiana President Tony Murry, IVFA Lobbyist Larry Curl, and others to ensure Firefighter Dawes was recognized.

Thursday, September 7, 2023 Indiana Fallen Fire Fighters Annual Remembrance Ceremony

Indiana Law Enforcement and Fire Fighters Memorial located at Government Way & Senate Ave Indianapolis, IN 46204 Ceremony will begins at 6:00 PM

For breaking news, news and information go to or like/follow the Lawrence County Zephyr Facebook page.


279 views0 comments


bottom of page