top of page
  • Writer's pictureBill Raines

School Board Candidates Forum Tonight - BNL Performing Arts Center

BEDFORD - SEPTEMBER 29, 2022 - The North Lawrence Education Association is sponsoring a voter forum this evening at the BNL Performing Arts Center that will begin at 6:00 p.m.

Two incumbents Kristen Collier and Dr. Kamal Girgis will be trying to for another term of four more years on the North Lawrence Community School Board. A total of thirteen candidates filed for this year's school board race: in four districts.

Since the 2018 election; the previous school board voted to right-size the school corporation with the closure of four elementary schools, and Shawswick Middle School.

Discussions continue on what to do with the Oolitic Middle School and the lack of teachers to fill vacancies at that school.

The long group of candidates will share their vision on how they will lead and move the corporation forward in the post consolidation and overage of at least 30 schoolteachers.

School board candidate signs can be seen throughout the area as, the November 8, 2022, General election is nearing.

North Lawrence Community Schools DISTRICT 1

  • Kirsten Collier (Incumbent)

  • Craig W Godsey

  • Jason E Johnson


  • Adam P Parsley

  • Michael Patton


  • Scott C King

  • Robert M Payne

  • Tom “Rock" Fleetwood

  • Tye M. Hooten

  • Autumn Ray


  • Kamal Girgis (Incumbent)

  • Barbara Miller

Lawrence County Zephyr will attend tonight's forum highlighting this evening's event.

For breaking news, news and information subscribe to or follow us on Facebook.

169 views0 comments


bottom of page